Local Community Advocate Selected as Junior League of Miami 87th President

posted on

Leanne Frazee Tellam, a local community advocate, has been selected as the 87th President of the Junior League of Miami. She has been a member of the Junior League for 15 years, and this will be her fifth term as a board member.  Mrs. Tellam is also member of the Florida Bar, an experienced trial attorney, and a Civil Circuit Certified Mediator.  She currently chairs the Education Compact Committee for the Village of Palmetto Bay and has extensive leadership experience in both civic and professional organizations.

“It is an honor to have been selected by other Junior League members to serve as their President,” said Mrs. Tellam.  “I am looking forward to continuing the mission of our wonderful organization by training tomorrow’s civic leaders and improving the lives of families at risk throughout our community.”

During her decade and a half as a Junior League member, Mrs. Tellam has served in many capacities including Vice President of Community Projects.  Notably, she served as project treasurer during the construction of Inn Transition South (ITS).  Inn Transition South is a 54-unit transitional housing complex for victims of domestic violence.  ITS is one of many projects that the Junior League of Miami sponsors in the community as part of its mission of promoting voluntarism, developing the potential of women, and improving communities through the effective action and leadership of trained volunteers.  Other notable projects include starting the Miami Science Museum and advocating for the recent passage of the Safe Harbor Act to protect sexually exploited children.

Leanne Tellam is joined by the rest of her leadership team as follows:  Sustaining Advisor Julia Rea Bianchi, President-Elect Maria Figueroa Byrd, VP Communications Vivian Rodriguez, VP Community Emilie Wernick, VP Development Rebecca Gentry, VP Finance Johanne Nicoleau, VP Membership Cecilia Slesnick,  VP Planning Catherine Grieve, Recording Secretary Jane Bhatt, Treasurer Laeticia Blanchard, Parliamentarian Jennifer Herskowitz, Nominating Chair Tracy Pottker-Fishel, Placement Chair Elizabeth Vargas, Sustainer Liaison Beatriz Cruz-Ledon Sears, and Technology Chair Sarah Tuskey   Mrs. Tellam succeeds outstanding community leaders who have served as Junior League presidents such as Jane Harris Abess, Linda Dunn Brown, Mary M. Young, and Katie Lane Arriola.