Women Who Make A Difference


Each year, the Junior League of Miami hosts a spring event to recognize several outstanding women who exemplify the League’s mission of promoting volunteerism, developing the potential of women, and improving communities. These women have made a positive contribution to Miami and/or the surrounding communities. At least one woman must be a JLM Sustaining Member.

Proceeds from this event will support programs focused on women and children at risk. Individual and corporate support will fund our community projects and signature programs. For more than 90 years, the Junior League of Miami, Inc. and the Association of Junior Leagues International (AJLI) has worked at the forefront of social reform, tackling the toughest and most critical issues of the day — including childhood nutrition and obesity, human trafficking, foster care, juvenile justice, teen self-esteem, cybercrimes, literacy, and the environment, among others — for the purpose of enhancing the social, cultural, and political fabric of civil society. As a result of this work, JLM and AJLI — and the more than 125,000 women in over 290 communities in the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Mexico who comprise its ranks — has amassed an archive of tangible results and a reputation as thoughtful and influential change agents dedicated to the public good.



Please click here to purchase tickets or sponsor the event.

To learn more about sponsoring, click here.

For any questions or general inquiries with regards to the 2023 event, please email Maddie Guillard at wwmdchair@jlmiami.org

The 2023 Honorees will be announced in late 2022.



Ellen Bowen
Anne Helliwell
Symeria Hudson
Erin Dolan Knight
Kerry-Ann Royes2021
Claudia de la Cruz
Susan Lerner
Rebecca Fishman Lipsey
Connie Kinnard
Mary Bradley Shafey2020
Maria Clara Harrington
Lileana de Moya
Ana Veiga Milton
Becky Roper Matkov2019
Tina Brown
Katherine Fernandez Rundle
Michelle Ramirez–Patricios
Anita Uppaluri

Lubby Navarro
Victoria Cummock
Arva Moore Parks

Lynn Summers
Nancy Bachelor
Alexandra Villoch

Shannon Allen
Meg Daly
Belty Lopez-Castro

Maria C. Alonso
Melissa Medina
Deborah Korge

Kim Bonomo
Jennifer D. Ellis, Esq.
Regina Jollivette Frazier
Bunchy Gernter2013
Virginia Jacko
Sandy Skelaney
Wansley Walters2012
Lea Black
Lauren Book
Kathleen Kennedy-Olsen
Amy Rosenberg2011
Risa Berrin
Gina Russ
Marie-Ilene Whitehurst
Mary Young

Lourdes Castillo de la Pena
Sabrina Cohen
Claudia Kitchens
Edith Osman, Esq.

Tim Carroll-Scott, MD, FAAP
Caryn Lubetsky, Esq.
Trudy Novicki, Esq.
Ruth Wiesen

Trish Bell
Yolanda Berkowitz
Thelma Gibson
Peggy Sapp

Judy Barr
Constance Collins
Katherine Ezell
Sister Sheila Foy
Kimba Gosier

Melanie Emmons Damian
Virginia Emmons
Nancy T. Hector
Christina McKinnon
Ellen Shishko2005
Georgina Angones
Paula Brockway
Karen Fryd
Sharon Langer
Clara Pascal2004
Julia Bianchi
Carol Berns
Mindy Cassel
Lee Klein
The Honorable Bonnie Rippingille2003
The Honorable Jeri Beth Cohen
Carolyn Jenkins-Jaeger
Sister Camille Saieh
Jennifer Valoppi

Berta Blecke
Silvia Fortun
Dr. Lumane Pluviose-Claude


Past Committee Chairs

  • 2022: Jillian Kuehl
  • 2021: Merdochey LaFrance, Jacklyn Dadas-Kraper, Jillian Kuehl
  • 2020: Candace Tejidor and Taylor Abess
  • 2019: Monique Lavender Greenberg and Megan DeMilia
  • 2018: Christine Trucoo and Raquel Zuniga
  • 2017: Meg McIntosh and Mary Jane Dacek
  • 2016: Silvia Corral and Rosemary Hartigan
  • 2015: Jessica Delgado, Amanda Kinney and Laura Preuss-Kuhne
  • 2014: Kim Sarkisian
  • 2013: Jennifer Cohen and Corinne “Coki” Guerra
  • 2012: Amanda Kessler and Lauren Billingslea Dowlen
  • 2011: Amber Seidle-Lazo, Luly Sixto-Yero and Michelle McClaskey
  • 2010: Bibi Cruz-Ledón Sears, Marlene Fernandez-Karavetsos and April Pizzo
  • 2009: Ali Nason-Aymerich and Teresa Thornberg
  • 2008: Melissa Tolmach and Lauren Billingslea Dowlen
  • 2007: Vicky Hucks and Jen Green
  • 2006: Betty Lopez-Castro and Christina Urena
  • 2005: Alise Johnson and Michelle Ramirez-Patricios
  • 2004: Lauren Harrison Genovese
  • 2003: Loretta Nido and Lauren Harrison Genovese
  • 2002: Cheryl Goldstein and Karen Key Cabrera

For any questions or general inquiries, please email wwmdchair@jlmiami.org.